Reopening of our HWCDSB Schools - Click Here
Destiny Discover
Director’s Awards celebrate student achievement

This year’s Director’s Awards of Excellence may not have the pomp or presentation of past award ceremonies, but they certainly have the prestige.

Close to 600 elementary students – 12 from each of the board’s 47 elementary schools – are being recognized this month for outstanding achievements in academics, service and Stewardship of Creation.

The student awards program was established many years ago and has been maintained by successive Directors of Education to recognize excellence at the school level. The first, the “Catholic School Mission/Vision” award, is presented to a student who models the virtues of Catholic education, specifically, working for and promoting a more just, caring and peaceful school community. The next award – for “Excellent Effort in the Pursuit of Learning” – is given to a student who demonstrates personal responsibility in the pursuit of learning and strives for continuous improvement, while the “Stewardship of Creation/Environmental Award” acknowledges student efforts in creating a greener and more environmentally sustainable school community.

The last award category recognizes academic proficiency in the subject areas of Arts, Religion & Family Life, Language, Science/Technology, Mathematics, Social Studies/History/Geography, Health & Physical Education, and French as a Second Language.

Twelve students from each school in total received awards.

If there’s one take-away from the awards program, says Director of Education David Hansen, it is that the awards are “an absolute big deal.”

“This is your principals and teachers identifying you as examples of excellence at your schools. That’s why this is a big deal.”

Congratulations to all the student award recipients.

St. Matthew CES

Catholic School Mission/Vision:
Vincent Kopun
Academic Excellence: Roman Sardo
Excellent Effort in the Pursuit of Learning: Cianna Maiolo
Arts: Sophia Salvo
Religion & Family Life: Tiana Pirrera
Language: Liam Winer
Science & Technology: Ethan Smillie
Mathematics: Suren Martirosyan
Stewardship of Creation/Environmental Award: Gabriela Arnold
Social Studies/History/Geography: Zachary VanderElzen
French as a Second Language: Adrian Knoblich
Health & Physical Education: Jessica Schmid

Director’s Awards celebrate student achievement